Home Events + News Ban on Single-Use Carryout Bags in NJ Goes Into Effect on May 4th

Ban on Single-Use Carryout Bags in NJ Goes Into Effect on May 4th

by Victoria Marie Moyeno
0 FacebookTwitterPinterestEmail

The latest measures of New Jersey’s ban on plastic begin on Wednesday, May 4th, 2022. New Jersey law will prohibit all stores from selling or providing customers with single-use plastic carryout bags; instead, stores can provide or sell only reusable carryout bags. Also going into effect on the same day is a ban on polystyrene foam foodservice products.

new jersey single use plastic foam products ban 2022

Single-Use Platic Carryout Bags

NJ.gov lists out the new regulations regarding the bans.

According to the website, a “reusable carryout bag” must be:

  • Made of polypropylene fabric, PET non-woven fabric, nylon, cloth, hemp product, or other washable fabric;
  • Have stitched handles; and
  • Be designed and manufactured for multiple reuses

Read More: Out Montclair To Host Spring Fling Dance Party

Foam Products

The ban prohibits foodservice businesses from selling/offering for sale any polystyrene foam foodservice products. A “polystyrene foam foodservice product” is defined by the website as “a product made, in whole or in part, of polystyrene foam that is used for selling or providing a food or beverage, and includes but is not limited to a food container, plate, hot or cold beverage cup, meat or vegetable tray, cutlery, or egg carton.”

The following products are exempt until May 4, 2024, unless otherwise extended by the DEP:

  • Disposable, long-handled polystyrene foam soda spoons when required and used for thick drinks
  • Portion cups of two ounces or less, if used for hot foods or foods requiring lids
  • Meat and fish trays for raw or butchered meat, including poultry, or fish that is sold from a refrigerator or similar retail appliance
  • Any food product pre-packaged by the manufacturer with a polystyrene foam foodservice product
  • Any other polystyrene foam foodservice product as determined necessary by the DEP

See More: The Essex County Cherry Blossom Fest Is Returning In-Person This Year

Penalties for non-compliance and enforcement:

NJ.gov states that a person or entity that violates the law will be warned for a first offense; may be fined up to $1,000 per day for the second offense and may be fined up to $5,000 per day for the third and subsequent violations. Violations of a continuing nature constitute an additional, separate, and distinct offense for each day that is deemed a violation. The DEP, municipalities, and any entity certified pursuant to the “County Environmental Health Act” are authorized to enforce the law.

Montclair shops that sell reusable bags:

  • The Eclectic Chic Boutique
  • Pink Bungalow
  • Giftbar
  • Pazzazed Montclair
  • &son
  • Monty
  • Velvet Lush

read more button

We're more than just big hair.
Become a North Jersey expert in no time — and get our top stories to your inbox weekly.
Thank you for subscribing!

also appears in

0 comment